Reviews Music

Frank Turner — England Keep My Bones

Frank Turner - England Keep My Bones
Frank TurnerEngland Keep My Bones
Release Date: June 7, 2011
Epitaph Records; 12 Tracks; CD, LP

 

Review by: Sean McNamara

England's folk troubadour returns with a collection of songs steeped with rich folk tradition, but injected with some punk rock spirit.

Read more...

Death Cab For Cutie — Codes And Keys

artist - album_title
Death Cab For CutieCodes And Keys
Release Date: May 31, 2011
Atlantic Records; 11 Tracks; CD, LP

 

Review by: Sean McNamara

With Codes And Keys, Death Cab For Cutie show us that there's nothing wrong with lightening up a little.

Read more...

Chad VanGaalen — Diaper Island

>Chad VanGaalen - Diaper Island
Chad VanGaalenDiaper Island
Release Date: May 17, 2011
Flemish Eye/Sub Pop; 12 Tracks; CD, LP

 

Review by: Colleen Hale-Hodgson

Chad VanGaalen's fourth studio offering is yet another departure for this Canadian folk troubadour.

Read more...

Sam Roberts Band — Collider

Sam Roberts Band - Collider
Sam Roberts BandCollider
Release Date: May 10, 2011
Secret Brain/Universal; 13 Tracks; CD

 

Review by: Lee Fraser

Sam Roberts Band is growing up without losing the fun factor.

Read more...

Okkervil River — I Am Very Far

Okkervil River - I Am Very Far
Okkervil RiverI Am Very Far
Release Date: May 10, 2011
Jagjaguwar; 11 Tracks; CD, LP

 

Review by: Chad Hutchings

After a three year stretch, Okkervil River has finally put something fresh on store shelves.

Read more...

Elbow — Build A Rocket Boys!

artist - album_title
ElbowBuild A Rocket Boys!
Release Date: March 8, 2011
Polydor Records; 11 Tracks; CD, LP

 

Review by: Sean McNamara

After the success of 2008's The Seldom Seen Kid, Elbow return with another fantastic album that showcases the depth of their sound, as well as the talent of songwriter Guy Garvey.

Read more...

Mother Mother — Eureka

Mother Mother - Eureka
Mother MotherEureka
Release Date: March 15, 2011
Last Gang Records; 12 Tracks; CD

 

Review by: Katie Christensen

Eureka: An interjection used to celebrate a discovery.

Read more...

Dinosaur Bones — My Divider

artist - album_title
Dinosaur BonesMy Divider
Release Date: March 8, 2011
Dine Alone Records; 11 Tracks; CD

 

Review by: Sean McNamara

On their full-length debut, Dinosaur Bones prove that the buzz surrounding them is well-deserved.

Read more...

Lykke Li — Wounded Rhymes

Lykke Li - Wounded Rhymes
Lykke LiWounded Rhymes
Release Date: March 1, 2011
LL Recordings; 11 Tracks; CD

 

Review by: Allyssia Alleyne

If Lykke Li's Wounded Rhymes, the Swedish singer's sophomore effort, proves anything, it is that the 25-year-old has done some growing up since releasing her 2008 debut, Youth Novels.

Read more...

Hey Rosetta! — Seeds

artist - album_title
Hey Rosetta!Seeds
Release Date: February 15, 2011
Sonic Records; 11 Tracks; CD, LP Vinyl

 

Review by: Lee Fraser

This highly anticipated third album from Hey Rosetta! will prompt even more reverence for the Newfoundland band.

Read more...

The Liptonians — Let's All March Back Into The Sea

The Liptonians — Let's All March Back Into The Sea
The LiptoniansLet's All March Back Into The Sea
Release Date: February 8, 2011
Head In The Sand; 11 Tracks; CD

 

Review by: Lee Fraser

Cleverly written lyrics and ambitious sound are on offer from The Liptonians new album.

Read more...

The Decemberists — The King Is Dead

The Decemberists - The King Is Dead
The DecemberistsThe King Is Dead
Release Date: January 18, 2011
Capitol/EMI; 10 Tracks; CD

 

Review by: Max Mertens

Let's get one thing straight: The King Is Dead isn't your typical album from The Decemberists.

Read more...

Kanye West Brings His ‘Fantasy’ To Fruition

Kanye West - My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
Kanye West — My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
Roc-A-Fella Records; 2010
13 Tracks; CD, MP3

 

Review by: Lucas Samuels

The idea that hip-hop albums are autobiographical is nothing new. Virtually every up-and-coming and established hip-hop artist alike touts their albums as reflections of their lives.

Read more...

The Details — The Original Mark EP

The Details - The Original Mark EP
The DetailsThe Original Mark EP
2010
5 Tracks; CD

 

Review by: V. Rachel Weldon

Winnepeg's The Details provide a solid five track EP (four new and one remix of the 2007 single "Floor Plans") to follow their acclaimed full-length debut Draw a Distance. Draw a Border.

Read more...

Olenka and the Autumn Lovers — And Now We Sing

Olenka and the Autumn Lovers - And Now We Sing
Olenka and the Autumn LoversAnd Now We Sing
Oh! Records; 2010
14 Tracks; CD

 

Review by: V. Rachel Weldon

You've heard Caribou's "Odessa", and whether you listen to Olenka and the Autumn Lover's album-opening single of the same name either by virtue of your partiality towards its title or because you read this stellar review of a fantastic sophomore album is insignificant.

Read more...

The Golden Dogs — Coat Of Arms

The Golden Dogs - Coat Of Arms
The Golden DogsCoat Of Arms
Nevado records; 2010
12 Tracks; CD, LP

 

Review by: Sean McNamara

The Golden Dogs ride the fine line between "That sounds like all their other albums" and "They changed their style too much". The result? Amazing!

Read more...

The Reason — Fools

artist - album_title
The ReasonFools
Warner Music; 2010
11 Tracks; CD

 

Review by: Sean McNamara

The Reason return with a diverse album jam-packed with straight ahead rock n' roll.

Read more...

Arcade Fire — The Suburbs

Arcade Fire - The Suburbs
Arcade FireThe Suburbs
Merge Records; 2010
16 Tracks; CD, LP, Digitlal Download

 

Review by: Lee Fraser

The Suburbs has little in common with the suburbs.

Read more...

We Are Scientists — Barbara

artist - album_title
We Are ScientistsBarbara
Virgin Records; 2010
10 Tracks; CD, LP

 

Review by: Sean McNamara

Barbara marks a triumphant return to form for We Are Scientists, and proves to be the band's most consistent effort yet.

Read more...

The Gaslight Anthem — American Slang

The Gaslight Anthem - American Slang
The Gaslight AnthemAmerican Slang
SideOneDummy Records; 2010
10 Tracks; CD, LP

 

Review by: Sean McNamara

The Gaslight Anthem release another album full of passionate Americana-laced rock, with a couple of small transitions.

Read more...

Rah Rah — Breaking Hearts

Rah Rah - Breaking Hearts
Rah RahBreaking Hearts
Young Soul; 2010
13 Tracks; CD, LP

 

Review by: Lee Fraser

New release from Regina's darlings will not break our hearts.

Read more...

Stars — The Five Ghosts

Stars - The Five Ghosts
StarsThe Five Ghosts
Soft Revolution; 2010
11 Tracks; CD, LP, Digital Download

 

Review by: Whitney Pineault

The wait is finally over for Stars fans as Montreal's celebrated indie rock quintet returns with The Five Ghosts, the band's first full-length album since 2007's Polaris Prize nominee In Our Bedroom After The War.

Read more...

Against Me! — White Crosses

artist - album_title
Against Me!White Crosses
Sire Records; 2010
10 Tracks; CD, LP

 

Review by: Sean McNamara

Against Me! release another album that departs from their punk/folk roots. The result? Still very enjoyable.

Read more...

We Are The Take — The Naked Now

artist - album_title
We Are The TakeThe Naked Now
Independent; 2010
10 Tracks; CD

 

Review by: Sean McNamara

The Naked Now shines with catchy, but definitely not cheesy, guitar-pop songs that even the most cynical hipster will find themselves toe-tapping to.

Read more...

Born Ruffians — Say It

artist - album_title
Born RuffiansSay It
Warp Records; 2010
10 Tracks; CD, LP

 

Review by: Sean McNamara

Toronto-based threesome return sounding less frantic and more focused.

Read more...

Page 2 of 3

Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/stickyma/domains/stickymagazine.com/public_html/main/templates/ja_teline_iii/html/pagination.php on line 129 Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/stickyma/domains/stickymagazine.com/public_html/main/templates/ja_teline_iii/html/pagination.php on line 135 Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/stickyma/domains/stickymagazine.com/public_html/main/templates/ja_teline_iii/html/pagination.php on line 129 Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/stickyma/domains/stickymagazine.com/public_html/main/templates/ja_teline_iii/html/pagination.php on line 135 Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/stickyma/domains/stickymagazine.com/public_html/main/templates/ja_teline_iii/html/pagination.php on line 129 Warning: Illegal string offset 'active' in /home/stickyma/domains/stickymagazine.com/public_html/main/templates/ja_teline_iii/html/pagination.php on line 135